Gender and the Supernatural

Might there be a connection?

Name Change Coming soon...
7 min readAug 30, 2022
Photo by Marek Piwnicki on Unsplash

Writing for me, as I’m sure it is for many of you, is a sense-making tool. And as I’ve used it to navigate our cultural landscape, I’ve become fascinated with the concept of gender. I’ve written five posts that deal with it directly or indirectly. And as I’ve done that, I’ve realized that gender is one of the most complex and interesting ideas that our culture is dealing with today. That is the reason I find it so worthy of discussion.

But this post is not about the complexity itself. I’ve already explored it in detail. This post is about clarity and simplicity which I hope I can bring to the discussion.

To that end, I’ve boiled it down to a single question: what can we say is objectively true about human beings, and how might the concept of gender be either helpful or detrimental in our understanding of that reality?

Here’s where I start in answering that question.

When we divide human beings up into categories like male or female, man, woman, boy or girl, I can identify only four dimensions of description in which they can be objectively observed:

  1. Biological sex: a person’s reproductive mode which we refer to as male or female
  2. Sexual orientation: whether someone is attracted to their same sex…

--

--

Name Change Coming soon...

The pedantic ramblings of a hopeless contrarian, grasping for sanity in a world gone mad